My Favorite Quote

There’s this wise person.  This individual has traveled throughout the lands, bringing joy and presents to children and adults alike.  The wisdom shared by said person will live on for centuries as devout followers listen and learn and love.

It’s Oprah, bitch.

I can’t say I’m actually a huge Oprah fan.  Ok, that’s not true, I was a huge early Oprah fan, you know, before she became a gazillionaire and her ego got really large.  Once she became a mega star she started pretending she knew all the words to songs that she really didn’t know.  She’d have guests on and you’d see her moving her lips like she was really in to the whole show and that this particular artist was her favorite hot new thing.  But really, she didn’t know the words, and she was NOT tricking me.

Anyhoodles, my all time favorite quote came from her show.  She didn’t actually say it, but at the time, I didn’t realize how much I’d love it and that I should actually pay attention to the smarty farty doctor who actually did say it.  It goes a little something like this.  Are you ready?  Your socks are about to be blown off.

“When someone shows you who they are, believe them.”

Mmm hmmm, good shit right?  I mean, how many times in dating or friendships have you hung in there, hoping shit would change, or the person would become better, less assholey, more of this or less of that?  I have done it a lot.  Like a-whole-lot.  To be honest, I still do it.  But I’m trying not to.  This is not to say that I lose hope in people in general, but I am just trying to come to terms with the fact that they might not always do it my way. Or anywhere even in the neighborhood of my way.

And they might not ever.  And I just have to believe it.  And accept it.  Or not.

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Quote

  1. My friend Josey just sent this to me…and I did a big old UGLY CRY on my one morning out of the house this month, because…YES.

    Thank you. I’m gobsmacked. This is IT. EXACTLY.

    • I’m sorry you are having a rough time. And super sorry I made you have an ugly cry. It’s a tough lesson for sure. I’m glad Josey got you here today. 🙂

You Complete Me.

